Transpartisan Alliance friend and associate Amanda Kathryn Roman has a good post on her new blog!


Amanda Kathryn Roman » Archives » The Spice of Life – Wisdom in Diversity.

The Spice of Life – Wisdom in Diversity

Thursday, December 31, 2009 | 12:24 pm

Over the past year, I have been volunteering my time with a wonderful group of passionate people exploring the transpartisan possibility. While I have been active in politics from a young age, politics-as-usual has always rubbed me the wrong way and I have found myself on the side of calling for reform and accountability all too often. More recently, the tone of public discourse among Americans across this great country of ours has become increasingly hostile and caused me a great deal of concern.

I have always trusted in the people as oppossed to government and now I am watching average Americans turning on one another. I couldn’t help but think, we all want the same things – a better tomorrow, a safe and healthy community for our children to grow up in, opportunites to succeed in the land of the free & the home of the brave. Yes, we all have a different perspective on how to get there, but can’t we find a way to work together to reach those goals. Having lived in the Washington, DC area for almost 10 years now as an avid history buff, I have long pined for the days of statemanship and civility.

Last year, I attended the Transpartisan Alliance’s American Citizens Summit as a co-sponsor representing Citizens in Charge Foundation, of which I serve as the Executive Director. At the Summit, I connected on a deep level with the spirit of transpartisanship and have spent the last 11 months meeting and collaborating with a myriad of amazing people who are working to unite us as Americans and honor the wisdom in diversity – diversity has always been the spice of life for me!

Some of you might be wondering, what is transpartisan. Well, here is the working definition:

Transpartisanship acknowledges the validity of truths across a range of political perspectives and seeks to synthesize them into an inclusive, pragmatic whole beyond typical political dualities. In practice, transpartisan solutions emerge out of a new kind of public conversation that moves beyond polarization by applying proven methods of facilitated dialogue, deliberation and conflict resolution.

There are a set of principles and values that those who are practicing transpartisanship employ. They are:

  • Respect other points of view
  • Value other points of view
  • Open-minded to others
  • Listen well to others
  • Suspend judgment of others
  • Build bridges with others
  • Give others benefit of doubt
  • Value cooperation

The leadership team of the Transpartisan Alliance: Joseph McCormick, Peter Hwosch, Walt Roberts, Debilyn Molineaux, and I just sent out a recent newsletter that I wanted to share. As we kick-off a new year this evening, I hope that we can all think about the transpartisan possibility.

Leave a Reply

